Skip to content
Lübberstedt, Thomas
Professor
K.J. Frey Chair in Agronomy
Dr.
Thomas
Lübberstedt
Office:
1204 Agronomy 716 Farm House Ln
Phone:
(515) 294-5356
Email:
thomasl@iastate.edu
Lübberstedt, Thomas
Professor
K.J. Frey Chair in Agronomy
Dr.
Thomas
Lübberstedt
Office:
1204 Agronomy 716 Farm House Ln
Phone:
(515) 294-5356
Email:
thomasl@iastate.edu

About

I grew up on a horticultural farm in Hamburg (Germany), where I was exposed to cropping various vegetable and ornamental species. I studied Agriculture, later Horticulture, where I very early became attracted by Plant Breeding and Molecular Genetics. Since then, combining those areas became my passion.  I believe that this is one of the most exciting scientific areas to be in to date, both because of the tremendous progress in plant genomic research over the past decades, and its impact on plant breeding. But also because plant breeding will remain one of the key areas to address major societal challenges, including feeding the growing human population, delivery of affordable high quality food and other plant products, response to climate change (incl. production of cellulosic biofuels),  among others.

Areas of Expertise:Plant Breeding
Interdepartmental Programs:

Interdepartmental Genetics and Genomics

People

Graduate Student
Graduate Student
Graduate Student
Graduate Student
Research Associate II
Bovenmyer, Elizabeth
Office:
1529 Agronomy 716 Farm House Ln
Phone:
(515) 294-8690
Email:
eaboven@iastate.edu
Research Associate II
Office:
2104 Agronomy $ 716 Farm House Ln.
Phone:
+1 515 294 1360
Email:
spfeffer@iastate.edu
Graduate Student
Dr. Paul Scott
Bapat, Amruta
Email:
amruta03@iastate.edu
Graduate Student
Foster, Tyler
Office:
1211 Agronomy 716 Farm House Ln
Phone:
515-460-0928
Email:
tfoster@iastate.edu
Graduate Student
Tanner Cook
Office:
1529 Agronomy Farm House Lane
Phone:
515-294-8690
Email:
tmcook@iastate.edu
Graduate Student
Chen, Yu-Ru
Office:
1211 Agronomy Hall 716 Farm House Ln
Phone:
+1 515 441 6400
Email:
yuruchen@iastate.edu
Research Scientist III
Muhammad-Aboobucker, Siddique Imran
Office:
1537 Agronomy 716 Farm House Ln
Phone:
(515) 294-8713
Email:
siddique@iastate.edu
Graduate Student
Email:
mfakude@iastate.edu
Professor and Chair
Lamkey, Kendall
Office:
2104b Agronomy 716 Farm House Ln
Phone:
(515) 294-7840
Email:
krlamkey@iastate.edu

Publications

Google Scholar