2020 Graduate Student Awards

July 1, 2021

Research Excellence Award – The award is to recognize graduate students for outstanding research accomplishments as documented in resulting theses and dissertations. The Research Excellence Program is administered by the Graduate College with additional support from the Graduate and Professional Student Senate.

     Summer = Mitchell Baum

     Fall = Ramawatar Yadav

Teaching Excellence Award – The award recognizes and encourage outstanding achievement by graduate students in teaching. The program is administered by the Graduate College with additional support from the Graduate and Professional Student Senate.

     Summer = Laura Tibbs

     Fall = Virginia Nichols

Brown Graduate Fellowship – The Brown Graduate Fellowship is used to strategically advance ISU research in the areas of study that are governed by the Valentine Hammes Family and Leopold Hammes Brown Family Trust.

    2020-2021 = Matt Nowatzke, Sarah Jones, Meyer Bohn, Laura Tibbs, Tanner Cook

Ted Crosbie Monsanto Scholarship in Corn Breeding – Eligible scholarship recipients will be pursuing a master’s degree or doctorate in the Iowa State agronomy department with a focus on corn breeding. Preference will be given to applicants who are Iowa residents.

     Fall = Tanner Cook

Robert A. Sloan Graduate Award in Sustainable Agriculture – The Donor has been inspired by conservation efforts on his family's farm in northeast Iowa to provide support to graduate students studying sustainable agriculture/agronomy at Iowa State University. The Donor is particularly interested in supporting students who are studying conventional agricultural practices for productive, sustainable land use. Recipients of this award are pursuing a graduate degree in sustainable agriculture or agronomy.

     Fall = Avery Bennett

C. R. Weber Award of Excellence in Plant Science – The C. R. Weber Award for Excellence in Plant Breeding was established in 1981 to recognize outstanding academic and research accomplishments by plant breeding graduate students in the Department of Agronomy. C. R. Weber was a professor in the Department of Agronomy at Iowa State University who made outstanding contributions to plant breeding, particularly in soybeans. The award was established by his family and friends to reward graduate students with the same goal for excellence to which he aspired.

     Fall = Matthew Carroll and Aaron Kusmec

Ruppert and Judith Hunziker Graduate Scholarship in Soil Science  Recipients shall be graduate students majoring in the Soil Sciences including but not limited to Soil Chemistry, Soil Science, or Soil Biology. Preference shall be given to students with prior or current service in the U.S. military, as a public school teacher, or with an agricultural extension service.

     Fall = Cole Dutter

Vernon C. Miller Scholarship in Agronomy – Recipients are enrolled in the Department of Agronomy and are studying conservation agriculture which may include but is not limited to environmental improvement, conservation tillage, cropping systems and nutrient management. 

     Fall = Eric Britt Moore