Dr. Yu named AAAS Fellow

November 28, 2018

AMES, Iowa – The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is honoring seven Iowa State University researchers for their work in agriculture, biological sciences, chemistry and engineering, including our Dr. Jianming Yu.

The seven are among 416 researchers from around the world who make up this year’s class of AAAS Fellows, the association announced today. The new fellows are being recognized “because of their efforts toward advancing science applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished.” Dr. Yu joins the limited company of only 40 other faculty at Iowa State University as a AAAS Fellow.

Dr. Yu is the Pioneer Hi-Bred Distinguished Chair in Maize Breeding and professor of agronomy. "For distinguished contributions to genetics and genomics of plant crops, with particular attention to processes associated with the domestication of maize."

The focus of Yu’s research is to address significant questions in plant breeding by combining cutting-edge genomic technologies and quantitative genetics theories. Yu is internationally recognized for his creative research in developing methods and strategies in genome-wide associate studies and genomic selection.

The new class of AAAS fellows will be announced in the Nov. 29 issue of the journal Science. Other ISU faculty honored include: Dean Adams (EEOB), Fredric Janzen (EEOB), Kristen Johansen (BBMB), Ratnesh Kumar (ECE), Javier Vela (Chemistry) and Qijing Zhang (VetMed). The AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of Science and other journals. The association was founded in 1848 and includes nearly 250 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million people.