Students Bring Back Lots of Success From ASA Conference

November 28, 2018

The Agronomy Club of Iowa State University traveled to Baltimore, Maryland at the beginning of November to attend the ASA conference. The ASA conference is the undergraduate part of the SASES. Agronomy Club had two retiring national officers, Katelyn Fritz and Michael Geissinger, as well as two newly elected national officers! Alyssa Swehla was elected as Member Relations and Marjorie Hanneman was elected as Vice President. Congratulations to both! The club made it to the semi-finals in the Quiz Bowl competition. The Quiz Bowl team consisted of four members; Andrew Blomme, Anne Dinges, Coleman Kneifl, and Nick Schuh. The material covered all different facets of agronomy.

Anne Dinges received first place in the Crops and Genetics category of the research poster competition. Her poster was titled Assessing Transferability Microsatellite Markers for Genetic Diversity Studies in Wild Potato Species in Uruguay. Before she competed at the conference, she submitted an abstract about her research, and then created the poster. During the ASA conference, there was a two hour poster session open to the public. 

The club also sent two teams to compete in the crops contest. The first team consisted of Andrew Blomme, Coleman Kneifl, Shannan Breja, and Josh Krischel. The second team consisted of Nick Schuh, Hannah Weber, Jenna Cowan, and Alyssa Swehla. Coleman Kneifl and Andrew Blomme placed in the top 10.

There were also quite a few students who were Greenfield and Gold Opportunity Scholars. The purpose of this opportunity is to pair talented undergraduate students with mentors to help cultivate networks to develop to necessary workforce to sustain agronomy, crops, and soils professions. The selected individuals get all-expenses paid to attend the annual meetings, including sessions designed specifically for them and their mentors.


ASA & ISSA Greenfield Scholars

Hannah Corey

Joshua Krischel


Golden Opportunity Scholars

Eric Butoto

Katelyn Fritz

Michael Geissinger

Jenna Rasmusson

Shannon Rauter

Jacob Wright

Congrats to the Agronomy Club for an incredibly successful trip to the ASA conference!