Skip to content

Faculty & Staff

Email Addresses

All Issues:

Keys, Repairs, and Updates:

Hours and Pay:


Human Resources:


Events Calendar request:

Agronomy Department
Advisory Council
  • Mary Wiedenhoeft, Associate Chair of Academics
  • Danny Singh, Associate Chair for Discovery and Engagement
  • Prashant Jha, Associate Chair of Extension and Outreach
  • Mindy Devries, term – elected
  • Brian Hornbuckle, tenure – elected
  • Pat Schnable, ad hoc
  • Michael Thompson, ad hoc
Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee


Mission Statement

“In the Department of Agronomy, we cultivate openness and trust. To accomplish this, our primary efforts seek to remove barriers and to support all individuals in the department to be the change for the greater good. The committee is responsible for developing and implementing strategies to increase and maintain diversity, equity, and inclusivity in the Department, disseminating diversity, equity, and inclusion-related information and policies to faculty, staff, and students, and facilitating diversity, equity, and inclusion-related activities in the department. The committee also leads and coordinates the execution of plans for integrating diversity and inclusivity into the basic functions of the department.”


The purpose of this committee is to awaken a realization that the diversity of students, faculty and staff is an opportunity to advance individuals and strengthen organizations. This requires safe spaces where people embrace integrity, individuality, and diversity with sensitivity, kindness, and openness to change. Because of this work, our doors, minds, and hearts shall remain open to diverse persons and ideas.


The committee intends to include all people in the Department of Agronomy. This includes, but is not limited to, people of diverse origins, perspectives, job classification, and backgrounds. To achieve this, the Department of Agronomy encourages safe spaces for storytelling, bringing to light stereotypes and prejudices, and identifying barriers that can be overcome. By promoting respect, honesty, compassion, diversity, and acceptance, we support a positive and safe culture for all members of the department.

Renewal and Advancement of Term Faculty Committee
  • Chair: Lee Burras – Elected, 2 years
  • Susana Goggi – Appointed, 1 year
  • Jan Wiersema – Elected, 2 years
  • Walter Suza – Elected, 3 years
  • Renuka Mathur – Appointed, 1 year
Promotion and Tenure Committee
  • Chair: Matt Liebman
  • Jianming Yu
  • Brian Hornbuckle
  • Mike Castellano
  • Susana Goggi
Awards Committee
  • Chair: Asheesh Singh, plant breeding
  • Brian Hornbuckle, ag meteorology
  • Sotirios Archontoulis, crops and extension
  • Bob Horton, soils
  • Tracy Schlater, staff
  • David Grant, at large
  • Madan Bhattacharyya, appointed
Undergrad Scholarship Committee
  • Coming Soon!
Agronomy Graduate Student Club Officers
  • President: Alexis Meadows
  • Vice President: Alejo Ruiz
  • Secretary: Mercy Azanu
  • Treasurer: Liza Van der Laan
  • Social Chair: Alam Ramirez Reyes
  • Seminar Co-Chairs: Ryan Hamberg, Yunjiao Zhu, and Mahule-Elyse-Bo Alladassi
R.F. Baker Plant Breeding Symposium Committee
  • Co-chairs: Liza Van der Laan & Ashlyn Rairdin
  • Speaker chair: Juan Panelo
  • Media chair: Sarah Jones
  • IT chair: Tae-Chun Park
  • Workshop & awards chair: Ann Murithi
  • Food and venue chair: Juan Di Salvo
  • Poster chair: Alejo Ruiz


Learn more about who the department is bringing in to share their science, knowledge and expertise.