Skip to content

Plant Breeding

Plant Breeding is the genetic improvement of crop plants through the study and application of genetics, statistics, agronomy, plant pathology, entomology, and related sciences. Crop plants included are Maize, Soybean, Sorghum, Sunflower and other crops in conjunction with the North Central Regional Plant Introduction Station.

An advanced degree in plant breeding offers tremendous job opportunities including, management and operation of public and private plant breeding programs, research on plant breeding methodologies, bio-technologies, and information technologies to improve breeding efficiency and effectiveness, cultivar development.

Learning Goals

Demonstrate

Demonstrate comprehensive understanding of scholarly literature in the area of study, i.e., plant breeding.

Hypothesize

Form testable hypotheses and articulate research objectives that, when met, will lead to significant contributions to the field of study.

Conduct

Conduct original research via appropriate data acquisition, analysis, and reporting of data.

Interpret

Interpret research results appropriately, integrating them into the existing knowledge in the discipline.

Communicate

Clearly and accurately communicate research findings orally and in writing, and appropriate use of display items (tables, figures, and other appropriate types of presentation), electronic or other forms of media.

Scholarship

Conduct scholarship, in teams or with independence, in ways that consistently demonstrate ethical practice and professionalism.

Plant Breeding Experts

Bhattacharyya, Madan
Office:
G303 Agronomy 716 Farm House Ln
Phone:
(515) 294-2505
Email:
mbhattac@iastate.edu
Affiliate Associate Professor
Cannon, Steven
Office:
1017 Crop Genome Lab 819 Wallace Rd
Phone:
(515) 294-6971
Email:
scannon@iastate.edu
Affiliate Associate Professor
Edwards, Jode
Office:
1503 Agronomy 716 Farm House Ln
Phone:
(515) 294-7607
Email:
jode@iastate.edu
Fei, Shuizhang
Office:
257 Horticulture 2206 Osborn Dr
Phone:
(515) 294-5119
Email:
sfei@iastate.edu
Scientist I
Frei, Ursula
Office:
1218 Agronomy 716 Farm House Ln
Phone:
(515) 294-2756
Email:
ufrei@iastate.edu
Affiliate Assistant Professor
Gardner, Candice
Office:
G212 Agronomy 716 Farm House Ln
Phone:
(515) 294-7967
Email:
gardnerc@iastate.edu
Affiliate Assistant Professor
Graham, Michelle
Office:
1565 Agronomy 716 Farm House Ln
Phone:
(515) 294-3626
Email:
magraham@iastate.edu
Affiliate Associate Professor
Grant, David
Office:
G304 Agronomy 716 Farm House Ln
Phone:
(515) 294-1205
Email:
dgrant@iastate.edu
Professor and Chair
Lamkey, Kendall
Office:
2104b Agronomy 716 Farm House Ln
Phone:
(515) 294-7840
Email:
krlamkey@iastate.edu
Professor
Lee, Michael
Office:
1553 Agronomy 716 Farm House Ln
Phone:
(515) 294-7951
Email:
mlee@iastate.edu
Professor
K.J. Frey Chair in Agronomy
Lübberstedt, Thomas
Office:
1204 Agronomy 716 Farm House Ln
Phone:
(515) 294-5356
Email:
thomasl@iastate.edu
Assistant Teaching Professor
Mahama, Anthony
Office:
2009 Agronomy 716 Farm House Ln
Phone:
(515) 294-4175
Email:
aamahama@iastate.edu
Affiliate Assistant Professor
O’Rourke, Jamie
Office:
1567 Agronomy 716 Farm House Ln
Phone:
(515) 294-7824
Email:
jorourke@iastate.edu
Affiliate Professor
Email:
dpeters1@iastate.edu
Associate Professor
Salas-Fernandez, Maria
Office:
1208 Agronomy 716 Farm House Ln
Phone:
(515) 294-9563
Email:
mgsalas@iastate.edu
Distinguished Professor
Schnable, Patrick
Office:
2035b Carver Co-Lab 1111 WOI Rd
Phone:
(515) 294-0975
Email:
schnable@iastate.edu
Affiliate Professor
Scott, Marvin
Office:
1407 Agronomy 716 Farm House Ln
Phone:
(515) 294-7825
Email:
pscott@iastate.edu
Assistant Professor
Singh, Arti
Office:
1559 Agronomy 716 Farm House Ln
Phone:
(515) 294-0948
Email:
arti@iastate.edu
Professor
Associate Chair for Discovery and Engagement
Director of Graduate Education - Plant Breeding
Singh, Asheesh
Office:
1501 Agronomy 716 Farm House Ln
Phone:
(515) 294-3268
Email:
singhak@iastate.edu
Smith, John Stephen
Office:
0195e Seed Science 2115 Osborn Dr
Phone:
(515) 294-8619
Email:
jscsmith@iastate.edu

Featured Student

Breeding transforms sorghum’s potential as biofuel of the future
The biofuel of the future may well be sorghum-based, thanks to new inbred lines that are significantly more productive and cold-hardy than sorghum plants of the past. Maria Salas-Fernandez, associate
Read More

Agricultural Meteorology

Agricultural Meteorology

The Agricultural Meteorology major integrates knowledge from a variety of scientific disciplines in order to determine how cropping systems are affected by weather and climate, and how cropping systems themselves affect weather and climate.

Learn More

Crop Production & Physiology

Crop Production & Physiology

Become an expert in crop physiology, ecology, and management; forage quality and utilization; seed production and physiology; weed biology and control

Learn More

Plant Breeding

Plant Breeding

Plant Breeding is the genetic improvement of crop plants through the study and application of genetics, statistics, agronomy, plant pathology, entomology, and related sciences.

Learn More

Soil Science

Soil Science

Explore the living and vast ecosystem under our feet. Soil science covers chemistry of the soil, fertility, management, microbiology and biochemistry, morphology and genesis as well as soil physics.

Learn More